« BACK

Food Safety: The Top 50 Social Media Influencers in the US

As part of food safety month, we’ve compiled this infographic identifying the top 50 food safety social media influencers in the US. There are some notable names on the list, including well known bloggers such as Bill Marler (Marler Blog) and Doug Powell (barfblog) alongside journalists from Food Safety News, Huffington Post, Food Network and Restaurant News.
Food safety social media influencer infographic US

 

The list was produced using Traackr and looked at three metrics:

  • Reach – the size of their audience
  • Resonance – the impact of their content
  • Relevance – the proportion of their tweets and posts that relate to food safety

Social media is helping to transform food safety. As well as helping to raise awareness of food safety issues, product recalls and outbreaks of foodborne illnesses, it also allows users to share the latest advice, tips and tools and makes it much easier to identify good restaurants and expose the bad.

If you’d like to get in touch with any of our influencers, you can contact them on Twitter:

  1. Bill Marler – @bmarler
  2. Fred Pritzker – @FredPritzker
  3. Doug Powell – @barfblog
  4. Dr Sandra Frank – @DietitianOnline
  5. Hugh Merwin – @hughmerwin
  6. Joseph Mercola – @mercola
  7. Helena Bottemiller – @hbottemiller
  8. Michele Simon – @MicheleRSimon
  9. Carla Gillespie – @carla_gillespie
  10. Marion Nelstle – @marionnestle
  11. Jillian Johnson – @cookiesinheaven
  12. Richard Myrick – @RichardMyrick
  13. Maryn McKenna – @marynmck
  14. Linda Larsen – @busycooks
  15. Toby Amidor – @tobyamidor
  16. Sloane Miller – @allergicgirl
  17. Phyllis Entis – @foodbuglady
  18. Michael Coston – @Fla_Medic
  19. Troy Brackett – @RestaurantNews1
  20. Dan Flynn – @foodsafetynews
  21. Emily Main – @RodaleNews
  22. Kathleen Purvis – @kathleenpurvis
  23. Joe Satran – @joe_satran
  24. Taylor Reid – @BeginningFarmer
  25. Kathe Garbrick – @femmekatz
  26. Clare Leschin-Hoar – @c_leschin
  27. Rick Cooley – @rcooley123
  28. Marc Hurwitz – @hiddenboston
  29. Tom Phillpott – @tomphilpott
  30. Maggie Fox – @maggiemfox
  31. Andrew Apel – @AgBioEye
  32. Sharon Begley – @sxbegle
  33. Nancy Huehnergarth – @nyshepa
  34. Stephanie Strom – @ssstrom
  35. Wenonah Hauter – @WenonahHauter
  36. Kat Odell – @Kat_Odell
  37. Paula Forbes – @PaulaForbes
  38. Leah McGrath – @LeahMcGrathRD
  39. Eddie Gehman Kohan – @ObamaFoodorama
  40. Kelly Dobkin – @kellydobkin
  41. Martin Murray – @AboutLogistics
  42. Terra Baltosiewich – @CafeTerraBlog
  43. Christy Wilson – @ChristysChomp
  44. Bettina Ellias Siegel – @thelunchtray
  45. Raphael Brion – @raphael_brion
  46. Dr Richard Besser – @DrRichardBesser
  47. Caroline Potter – @opentable
  48. Peter Gubbe – @EnFuegoInc
  49. Kristin Rowe-Finkbeiner – @MomsRising
  50. Mira Dessy – @MiraDessy

Congratulations to everyone who made the list. If you think anyone is missing, please let us know in the comments below.

To find out how Checkit’s wireless food safety monitoring can help your business, click here or get in touch.
« PREVIOUS NEXT »



restaurants ebook


Checkit provides Real-Time Operations Management for businesses that need to ensure safe, reliable and efficient performance.

For front line staff, Checkit automates, guides and enforces their activities, improving efficiency and consistency. For supervisors it automatically allocates and schedules work, making exceptions and issues easy to handle. For managers it creates broad control and consistency, providing continual insights across the business.

Recent Tweets